Cleveland Vehicular Manslaughter Lawyer
Representation for Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in Ohio
If you are accused of committing some misdemeanor while driving and causing a fatal accident while doing so, you could be charged with vehicular manslaughter. This is a very serious criminal charge which could ruin your life and severely limit your future in terms of gaining admission to college or obtaining a job you want.
If you have been charged, do not hesitate to call our reliable Cleveland vehicular manslaughter attorneys to represent you and work towards a positive resolution to your case.
Why We Should Be Your First Choice
With such serious charges you need a trustworthy and knowledgeable attorney who can fight your vehicular manslaughter arrest and work to undermine and discredit the prosecution. Henderson, Mokhtari & Weatherly exists to provide the highest caliber legal advice and representation for those accused of criminal offense and we are proud of our track record of success. Our skilled attorneys are members of the National College for DUI Defense and The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100.
Ohio Vehicular Manslaughter Penalties
To obtain a conviction, the prosecution will need to prove beyond reasonable doubt your driving caused another person’s death. Penalties for a conviction depend largely on the details of your case and any criminal record.
Vehicular manslaughter can be punished as follows:
- Up to 90 days in jail and 6 months to 3 years of a suspended driver’s license
- If driving on a suspended license or with a prior conviction, up to 6 months in jail
- Increased license suspension for one to five years with prior conviction for traffic-related murder
Whether defendants intended to injure the alleged victim or not is irrelevant to the judge. A vehicular manslaughter charge essentially assumes the defendant lacked intent to harm.
On the other hand, if you are accused of reckless behavior while driving or doing so while OVI, you could be charged with aggravated vehicular manslaughter which is a first degree felony, carrying three to ten years and up to $20,000 in fines.
Get Our Trusted & Professional Firm on Your Side
Our Cleveland vehicular manslaughter lawyers can challenge your vehicular manslaughter charges in order to have them dropped or at least reduce your sentence. The death of someone alone is insufficient to prove that you caused it. If the actions of the other party can be blamed in any way, you may not be able to be charged with vehicular manslaughter.
Call our firm today to begin your defense and protect your freedom!
- 75+ Years of Combined Experience
- A Team-Oriented Approach
- Available 24/7 for Our Clients
- Unmatched Work Ethic & Passion for Winning