Assault Lawyer Cleveland
Assault Charges in Ohio
In Ohio, if you cause or attempt to cause physical harm to another person, you could be charged with assault. Many people might think that they can be accused of this type of crime only if they actually make contact with the other person, such as by landing a punch. Unfortunately, that's not accurate. Simply placing a person in fear of injury is enough to trigger an arrest.
If you have been accused of committing assault, it's in your best interest to contact a lawyer right away. When the State prosecutes these matters, they begin gathering evidence to build their case against you. The more time it takes to retain legal representation, the less time your attorney has to work on your defense.
At Henderson, Mokhtari & Weatherly. we are passionate about helping those facing criminal charges. Our Cleveland assault lawyers provide personalized legal services, which means we get to know you and listen to your side of the story without judgment. When you retain our services, we'll start work on your case right away. We'll look at the facts of the case, demand the prosecution's evidence, and begin developing a legal strategy for your unique situation.
To get 75+ years of combined legal experience on your side, call our Cleveland assault attorneys at (216) 220-6776 today.
How Does Ohio Define Assault?
In Ohio, you could be charged with assault for knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical injury to another person or an unborn child. However, knowingly harming someone isn't always required to have assault charges levied against you. If you act recklessly, meaning you understand that your conduct could pose a substantial risk to others, and you hurt someone, you could be accused of this offense.
Simple assault is a first-degree misdemeanor.
If you're convicted, you could be penalized as follows:
- Up to 6 months in jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines
Depending on your circumstances, the level of charge can increase. This means that you could face even harsher punishments if you're found guilty of the offense. For instance, assault is a third-degree felony when it's committed at a correctional facility upon an employee by someone incarcerated there. In this case, the crime is punishable by a prison term of up to 3 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Various nuances exist to Ohio's assault law, which affect the potential conviction punishments. That is why it's crucial to speak with an assault defense attorney in Cleveland about your case. Our team can help you understand your charges, the potential outcomes, and your legal options.
What's the Difference Between Assault, Battery, and Aggravated Assault?
The terms "assault" and "battery" are often used interchangeably. However, they are separate types of conduct. Assault occurs when a person attempts to cause physical harm to someone else. Battery is the completion of assault. For example, if Sam raises their fist at Alex, and Alex reasonably believes that Sam will strike him, Sam has committed assault. If Sam actually finishes the punch, he is committing battery. Ohio's assault law concerns instances of both assault and battery.
In Ohio, aggravated assault is a separate offense from simple assault. Aggravated assault occurs when a person causes serious physical harm to another person. It can also be committed when an individual assaults or attempts to assault another with the use of a deadly or dangerous weapon.
Get Skilled Defense from Our Cleveland Assault Attorneys
If you've been charged with assault in Cleveland, call Henderson, Mokhtari & Weatherly. to discuss your case. Together, we have handled thousands of criminal matters, and we know what it takes to fight charges and protect your rights.
- 75+ Years of Combined Experience
- A Team-Oriented Approach
- Available 24/7 for Our Clients
- Unmatched Work Ethic & Passion for Winning